Tags

, , , , , , ,

Winery: Chateau Belingard
Varietal: Bergerac Red
Composition: 60% Merlot, 25% Cabernet Sauvignon, 10% Cabernet Franc, 5% Malbec

Date Purchased: 10/2/2016
Location Purchased: Total Wine
Cost: $9.99
Date Consumed: 10/20/2016

Review/Notes: I was intrigued but concerned by the merlot content of this one when we bought it. I decided to uncork it to go along with some Swedish meatballs and I think it worked out pretty well. It wasn’t overwhelmingly merlot, nicely balanced. This one wasn’t too fruity and not overly acidic. Seems like a pretty good value red. We don’t drink a lot of French wine, not sure why, maybe because it seems too obvious. It’s fun to find some good values out there though. 

When I lived in France with a host family in college we drank table wine out of a carafe every night with dinner, no idea what it was but it was excellent, and probably a good value as well. I miss the Metivier family, I hope I was as entertaining to them as they were amazing hosts to me.

