Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Winery: DeLoach Vineyards
Varietal: Zinfandel

Date Purchased: 10/2/2016
Location Purchased: Total Wine
Cost: $10.79
Date Consumed: 11/5/2016

Review/Notes: We uncorked this one while preparing onion soup after a long day outside watching airplanes dancing across the sky…AIRSHOW! If there’s one thing I like more than a delicious zinfandel it’s an AIRSHOW! I have a lot of respect for the skill and experience of the aerobatic pilots flying little propeller-driven aircraft that they throw around the sky in what appears to be an effort to vomit repeatedly while staying aloft but I also think that they are flying lawnmowers with wings. I got a little distressingly excited when the P-8 and the P-3 flew over, basically two military versions of civilian airliners…but they are big and powerful and kinda noisy and they get me in the pit of my stomach. Then there were the Blue Angels, those guys are good…flying that close together in gusting 25mph winds, that’s skill and teamwork and communication and preparation all rolled into one, plus it is loud and awesome and LOUD!

But I digress. Home now, making french onion soup and drinking a zin is also nice and exciting but in a completely different way. This particular wine is not really jumping out at me but that isn’t a horrible thing. It seems tight enough, not too acidic or fruity, well balanced. I feel like we have had DeLoach Zin before but I am not inclined to look through my reviews to see what I might have written about it in the past. I would like this one more if it had a bit more character, maybe a hint more fruitiness or something but I would still get it again though there are better Zin values than this one.

_bjw4295

P-3 and P-8 patrolling the skies over Jacksonville Beach


_bjw4968

The Blue Angels are still buzzing around in my head from earlier today.

