Tags

, , , , , , ,

Winery: Ferrari-Carano
Varietal: Chardonnay
Composition: 100% Chardonnay

Date Purchased: 11/19/16
Location Purchased: Total Wine
Cost: $19.97
Date Consumed: 11/24/2016

Review/Notes: This was our special Thanksgiving meal wine despite the fact that none of us really drink Chardonnay. We are mainly red drinkers and some giant fans of Pinot Grigio. I think we enjoyed this one more than the Pinot lovers.

It was very nice and oaky and a bit complex. It had some good depth to it, much more substantial than a $6.99 Pinot Grigio. It wasn’t too buttery or creamy and this was a good thing. I kept filling my glass back up, enjoying the variety. The day started with cranberry mimosas, which are apparently called Poinsettias but I refuse to refer to them as such. We then transitioned briefly to a Bordeaux, which you will see the review for next. There was only one short glass of that before we plunged headlong into Chardonnay Country.

I was maybe a little too excited about all of the wine that we brought on our Thanksgiving excursion but I was also anticipating drinking a lot of it….ahhhh yes. Thanksgiving, what can you say?

In short, the Ferrari-Carano was delicious, just as good as I remember it. This wine was a favorite of my father, which might be part of the reason why I think so fondly of it, but it is also a really nice wine, crisp and clean. I’m sad that we powered through two bottles of it.

